Now It’s Time To Watch The Classic Movie: “The Shawshank Redemption”

If my friend asks me for a great movie to watch, I would recommend The Shawshank Redemption without any hesitation. Honestly, I have watched this film serval times in the past few years. Every time I would get a different experience after I watched it. In the following description of the film, I will try my best not to be a spoiler to tell you the plot. Instead, I will tell you why I believe this is a great film that you cannot miss.

A Brief Introduction Of The Movie

According to IMBD which is a credible and authoritative Film & TV review website, The Shawshank Redemption is adapted from the short story “Rita Hayworth and Shawshank Redemption” written by Stephen King and it is directed by the famous director Frank Darabont in 1994. This two hours and twenty-two minutes film depicts a story that “Two imprisoned men bond over a number of years, finding solace and eventual redemption through acts of common decency.”

Reasons That I Recommend The Shawshank Redemption

1. Great Storyline

Some Hollywood movies either lose on storytelling or lose on scene, but The Shawshank Redemption did not loss any of them.

Firstly, as I mention above, this film is adapted by Stephen King’s renowned short story “Rita Hayworth and Shawshank Redemption” which already had an intact and interesting plot. Then, Hollywood excellent director, screenwriter and producer Frank Darabont worked with Stphen King to adapt the story to become a film script. Those two magnates in film and fiction industry worked together and presented a great masterpiece for us. Even though I cannot tell any plot here, I believe these two outstanding master can guarantee the quality of the storyline.

2. Excellent Film Crew Made The Excellent Film

Besides Frank Darabont and Stephen King, the cast made this film great. For example, Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman as two main characters played significant roles in the movie. Their exquisite acting skills added more colors into the movie and help audience felt the character’s emotion gradually. Meanwhile, the crew behind the screen also contributed to the movie. Production staff chose the Mansifield State Penitentiary in Ohio as the shooting area to restore the scenario, while they had to refit the penitentiary due to its shabby circumstance. All of their work aimed to make the movie better and better to help the audience get involved in the movie.

3. Inspirational Story

“Hope is a good thing, maybe the best of things, and no good thing ever dies.” – The Shawshank Redemption

Nowadays, people get more and more stress from the society. We lost ourselves when we are finding who we are and what we want to do. So do I. However, every time when I felt so depressed and worried about my future, I would like to watch this movie. The theme developed in the movie is: “hope”. It told me that whatever bad situation you had to confront, there are always a lot of ways for you to solve the problem if you keep improving yourself. This movies helped me beat a lot of problems and eliminated my bad emotion when I felt depressed. More importantly, it always inspires me to keep going on my way.

The Shawshank Redemptionfinally earned $58,500,000 over the world in the box office and got 9.3 out of 10 point in the IMBD. Thus, it can be seen that I am not the only one person to recommend the movie. A lot of great critic and professional in the movie industry also recommend it to the public. So do not hesitate now. If you have not watch it, go to watch it right now. It would not disappoint you. If you have your opinion about this movie, leave me a comment below and we can discuss it. Wish you can enjoy watching it!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Excellent Film!:))) Great Article!:)))

    Like

  2. SDM14 says:

    Hello Flora!

    I have not seen the Shawshank Redemption yet! I thought it was a horror film. Thanks for your clarification. I love Stephen King! I agree with you, he is a great writer! Also, I did not know that it was a high ranked film. I should have guessed it though. I have a list of movies that I want to watch when I have free time. because of you, I have added SR to the list! Thanks!

    -Shaina

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Flora!
    You surely chose a classic. I remember having to watch The Shawshank Redemption in highschool and thoroughly enjoyed it. & You’re right, it was an excellent choice of characters that really helped make a great film.
    I love the quote you pulled, those words just fill me with warmth when I read them, so I can only imagine how they must’ve helped you during your difficult times.
    Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a comment